Inkberry Books logo
Inkberry Books
Cottonwood Shopping Center
7960 Niwot Road
Suite B-3
Niwot, CO 80503
(720) 412-1548
color="#610b7d"            Home      

About Us      


Contact Us

New, gently used & out-of-print books for readers of all ages.

October 20, 2018
Join us on Saturday, October 20th from 2:00-5:00 for the Owl Canyon Press 2018 Summer Short Story Hackathon winners awards celebration. Winning authors from Colorado, North Carolina, Columbia, and Canada, including the First and Third place winners and several of the finalists will be reading from their work. The reading will be followed by an author reception.

Owl Canyon Press, an independent publishing company located in Boulder, Colorado has just announced the winners of the summer 2018 Hackathon Short Story Contest. The judges Tom Strelich (author of the novel Dog Logic) and Gene Hayworth (publisher and chief editor of Owl Canyon Press) announced the names of the 3 winning authors and 24 finalists after reviewing more than 900 original works of fiction from thirty-three countries, including the United States, Canada, India, Pakistan, Romania and many more. The entries ranged in genre, and included Romance, Supernatural, Mystery/Crime, Literary Fiction, and Sci-Fi/Fantasy. Writers were invited to create and submit a short story consisting of 50 paragraphs. The contest provided the first and last paragraph, and the short story writer crafted the rest. The first place prize in the Hackathon is $1,000: second place prize is $500; third place is $250. After careful reading of all the submissions, the judges awarded the following prizes:

FIRST PLACE ($1000): "The Biggest Salmon Barbecue in the Galaxy" by David Greenson
SECOND PLACE ($500): "Half of What You See" by Lorain Urban
THIRD PLACE ($250): "Birds of a Feather" by Julie Hall


Deborah Boller
Shannen Camp
Savannah Cordova
Peter Gikandi
Hannah Jackson
Jon Krampner
Casey Lefante
Amr Mekki
Syche Phillips
Christopher Schiller
Ansley Vreeland
Callie Zucker
Colin Brezicki
Shelby Carleton
Helen Foster
Dianne Gorveatt
Luke Kingsbury
Juliana Lamy
Tucker Lieberman
Jonathan Moyer
Andrea Poniers
Jeffrey Somers
Rick Wilson

The collection of winning stories has been published by Owl Canyon Press in the anthology, No Bars and a Dead Battery, which is available from: Owl Canyon Press